Wordcloud - Awards

The Faculty of Law's full-time and emeritus faculty have been honoured with many awards recognizing the quality of their scholarship and their contribution to the theory and practice of the law. See also the list of Endowed Chairs.

Fellow, Royal Society of Canada

15 faculty members - almost a quarter of the total - have been honoured as Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada.

Martin Friedland, Michael Trebilcock, Stephen Waddams, Ernest Weinrib, Bernard Dickens, Rebecca Cook, David Dyzenhaus, Kent Roach, Patrick Macklem, Arthur Ripstein, Alan Brudner, Brenda Cossman, Jutta Brunnée, Ran Hirschl, Ayelet Shachar

Sir John William Dawson Medal, Royal Society of Canada

Martin Friedland

Royal Society of Canada, College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

Yasmin Dawood, Anver Emon

Canada Research Chair, Government of Canada

Ran Hirschl, Mohammad Fadel, Anver Emon, Yasmin Dawood, Larissa Katz, Anthony Niblett

Order of Canada, Governor General of Canada

Martin Friedland (Companion), Rebecca Cook (Member), Bernard Dickens (Officer), Kent Roach (Member)

David Walter Mundell Medal, Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General

Stephen Waddams, Michael Trebilcock, Brenda Cossman, Kent Roach, Jim Phillips

Molson Prize, Canada Council for the Arts

Martin Friedland, Michael Treblicock, Kent Roach

Killam Research Fellowship, Canada Council for the Arts

Ran Hirschl, Stephen Waddams, Arthur Ripstein

Killam Prize, Canada Council for the Arts

Ernest Weinrib

Donner Prize

Michael Trebilcock

Premier's Discovery Award, Government of Ontario

Michael Treblicock

Trudeau Foundation Fellowship

Kent Roach, Audrey Macklin

University Professor, University of Toronto

Michael Trebilcock, Ernest Weinrib, Stephen Waddams, David Dyzenhaus, Arthur Ripstein

Professor Emeritus, University of Toronto

Jacob Ziegel, Martin Friedland, Bernard Dickens, Robert Prichard, David Beatty, Ann Rae (librarian), Rebecca Cook, Alan Brudner

Connaught Awards

Mariana Mota Prado, Anver Emon

Ludwik and Estelle Jus Memorial Human Rights Prize

Brenda Cossman, Audrey Macklin

Fulbright Awards

Anita Anand (Canada U.S. Fulbright Scholar Award), David Schneiderman, (Fulbright Canada-US Senior Scholar), Patrick Macklem (Fulbright New Century Scholar)

Guggenheim Fellowship, John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation

Anver Emon

Donald Smiley Prize, Canadian Political Science Association

Patrick Macklem

Foreign Honorary Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Michael Trebilcock, Ernest Weinrib

J. W. Dafoe Book Prize, J. W. Dafoe Foundation

Kent Roach

Konrad Adenauer Research Award, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (Germany)

Markus Dubber

Humboldt Research Fellowship, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (Germany)

David Dyzenhaus, Ran Hirschl

Law Society of Ontario Medal

Carol Rogerson

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize

Ayelet Shachar

Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award

Carol Rogerson

University of Toronto President’s Impact Award

Lisa Austin

 Institut de Droit International

Jutta Brunnée

Ordre des Palmes académiques (France)

Ron Levi

JJ Berry Smith Doctoral Supervision Award

Arthur Ripstein