2015 Competition 

Information about the 2015 Hockey Arbitration Competition of Canada can be found on our website www.thehacc.ca

Any questions on the upcoming competition can be directed to our 2015 Director Amir Torabi (steering@thehacc.ca)


The HACC is a competition for sports law enthusiasts run exclusively by University of Toronto law students. It simulates the salary arbitration procedures used in the National Hockey League (NHL). The HACC’s main goal is to give participants an opportunity to sharpen their oral and written advocacy skills within the specialized context of an NHL salary arbitration proceeding. This student activity is not offered for credit.

After the competition, the event concludes with a symposium where a select group of our guest arbitrators discuss hot topics impacting the NHL. Students are also treated to a networking event at a local resturant. This year's Chair is Amir Torabi (2L). 


Past Guest Arbitrators

  • The following individuals have tentatively confirmed to serve as guest judges in the 2014 HACC:

    • Clifford HartPartner, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
    • André NowakowskiPartner, Miller Thomson LLP
    • Rahim SuleimanSenior Manager Business Affairs, Rogers Media/Sportsnet
    • Rand SimonCertified NHL Player Agent, Newport Sports Management Inc.
    • David GoldsteinAssociate, Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP
    • Anton Thun, President, MFIVE SPORTS
    • Seth Klerer, Associate, Goodmans LLP
    • Craig Oster, Certified NHL Player Agent, Newport Sports Management Inc.
    • Don Meehan, Certified NHL Player Agent, Newport Sports Management Inc.
    • Brian Burke, President of Hockey Operations, Calgary Flames Hockey Club
    • Michael Alvaro, Articling Student, Cassels Brock and Blackwell LLP
    • Dan Rabinowitz, Partner, Miller Thomson LLP 
    • Ian Cooper, Owner, Cooper Media Law
    • Daniel Ages, Senior Counsel, National Hockey League
    • Eric Macramalla, Partner, Gowlings LaFleur Henderson LLP
    • Sam Hill, Principal, Law Office of Sam Hill
    • Trevor Whiffen, Partner, Dickinson Wright LLP




2014 - 32 teams participated in the 4rd annual competition on October 24 and 25, 2014

  • First Place: Western Law - Sean Del Giallo & Devon McIntyre
  • Second Place: University of Toronto - Fraser Malcolm & Tyler Henderson

2013 - 32 teams participated in the 2nd annual competition on October 18 and 19, 2013

  • First Place: University of Windsor - Ed Snetzinger and Pat Ganley
  • Second Place: Osgoode Hall Law School - Adam Theofanidis and Justin D'Alosio

2012 -
16 teams participated in the inagural competition on October 5 and 6, 2012. 

  • First Place: Queen's University - Alex Radin and Chelsea Ritchie
  • Second Place: University of Windsor - Dan Di Fonzo and Matt Rossetti








The three players/cases selected for the 2014 Hockey Arbitration Competition are:

1. Cody Franson - Toronto Maple Leafs - Defenceman - Midpoint Salary: $3.30M

2. Lars Eller - Montreal Canadiens - Forward - Midpoint Salary: $3.50M

3. Derick Brassard - New York Rangers - Forward - Midpoint Salary: $5.00M

2014 Cases - Players/Assignments


2014 HACC Official Rules (As of September 2014)