Wednesday, July 5, 2017
professor adriana robertson

The Faculty of Law welcomes two new scholars to its ranks: Professor Adriana Robertson and Professor Margaret Jane Radin.

Robertson is an assistant professor, with a cross-appointment at the Rotman School of Management. She has a BA from the University of Toronto’s Trinity College, where she was awarded the Lorne T. Morgan Gold Medal in Economics. She received her JD from Yale Law School, and will soon receive her PhD in Finance from the Yale School of Management. While at Law School, she was on the board of the Yale Journal on Regulation and the Yale Journal of Law and Feminism.  Her research is focused on the intersection of law and finance, and draws heavily on empirical and theoretical methods from financial economics.  For the coming academic year, she will be teaching Bankruptcy and Insolvency Law. 

Radin has formally joined the Faculty of Law as a professor, on a part-time basis.  She has been at the law school on a more informalProfessor Margaret Jane Radin basis for some time, and her appointment is now official. She is the author of the provocative and celebrated Boilerplate: The Fine Print, Vanishing Rights, and the Rule of Law (Princeton University Press, 2013), which won the Scribes Book Award for 2014; as well as the truly groundbreaking Contested Commodities (Harvard University Press, 1996) and Reinterpreting Property (University of Chicago Press, 1993), among others.  She has held chaired professorships at the University of Michigan, Stanford University, and USC.  She has taught at Harvard University, the University of California at Berkeley, New York University, and Princeton University, where she was the inaugural Microsoft Fellow in Law and Public Affairs.  She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a member of the American Law Institute, where she serves on the advisory board for the Restatement 3d of Consumer Contracts.  For the coming academic year, she will be teaching Academic Scholarship.

The first new faculty hires during Dean Ed Iacobucci’s term, these appointments maintain the faculty complement at 52 scholars—among the best faculty-to-student ratios in all of North America.