Thursday, March 28, 2024

Mayo Moran

Faculty of Law Professor Mayo Moran (SJD 1999), Provost and Vice-Chancellor of Trinity College in the University of Toronto, has been awarded the Law Society Medal.

Awarded by the Law Society of Ontario (LSO), the regulatory body of Ontario’s lawyers and paralegals, enacted since 1797. The Medal is bestowed for significant contributions and dedication to the legal profession.

Moran served as the first female Dean of the Faculty of Law from 2006 to 2014. Her scholarship covers a range of topics, including redress for historic wrongs, restitution, tort law, hate speech, legal and feminist theory, and reparative justice.

For more than a decade she served as chair of the Residential Schools Oversight Committee, which oversaw the settlement of more than 38,000 claims by residential school survivors. Moran chaired the panel recommending Ontario’s anti-SLAPP (strategic lawsuit against public participation) legislation and was part of the committee to conduct a second review of the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA). She was also instrumental in the development of the Sexual Violence and Harassment Action Plan Act.

“Mayo’s work as a scholar and advocate, and her instrumental role in promoting positive change in institutions, legislation, and pressing matters of national and international justice, exemplify her deep commitment to our profession and community,” said University Professor and Dean Jutta Brunnée, James Marshall Tory Dean’s Chair.

“Her work has left a lasting impact on the legal profession and beyond, and we are delighted to celebrate this well-deserved recognition.”

Moran was also recently named the Influential Leader recipient of U of T's Ludwik & Estelle Jus Memorial Human Rights Prize.

She will be honoured at the Law Society Awards on May 22, 2024.

Faculty of Law alumni Dianne G. Corbiere (LLB 1996) and Robert Cunningham (LLB 1990) will also be recognized.