Thursday, March 28, 2024

Faculty of Law graduates Dianne G. Corbiere (LLB 1996) and Robert Cunningham (LLB 1990) have been awarded the Law Society Medal for significant contributions and dedication to the legal profession.

The medal is awarded by the Law Society of Ontario (LSO), the regulatory body of Ontario’s lawyers and paralegals, enacted since 1797.

Dianne G. Corbiere, who graduated from U of T’s bachelor of laws in 1996, is a managing partner at Nahwegahbow Corbiere, one of the first Anishinaabe-owned law firms in Ontario. The firm works exclusively with First Nations and specializes in Aboriginal and Treaty Rights. As a litigator, her historic impact on case law has resulted in reconciliations for First Nations individuals, communities and organizations.

Rob Cunningham is a full-time lawyer and senior policy analyst for the Canadian Cancer Society and is recognized worldwide as an expert and leader in tobacco control. He has been an advisor to the World Health Organization (WHO) and has testified 86 times before federal, provincial, and territorial legislative committees. Rob has been awarded a medal by WHO, named a “National Public Health Hero” by the Canadian Public Health Association, and selected by Maclean’s magazine as one of 100 Canadians to watch.

“As Dean, it is tremendously gratifying to see U of T Law alumni emerge as dedicated, passionate, and exceptional leaders within the legal profession and our wider community,” said University Professor and Dean Jutta Brunnée, James Marshall Tory Dean’s Chair.

“Our esteemed graduates, Dianne G. Corbiere and Robert Cunningham, epitomize legal excellence. We are thrilled that Dianne and Robert’s remarkable contributions have received this well-deserved recognition.”

Corbiere and Cunningham will be honoured at the Law Society Awards on May 22, 2024.

Faculty of Law Professor and Dean Emerita Mayo Moran will also be recognized.