The W.C.G. Howland Prize, with an approximate value of $500, is awarded annually for the most outstanding performance in the LL.M. programme, as determined by the Associate Dean (Graduate Studies) in consultation with a Committee selected from faculty members. The Prize is a gift of the late W.C.G. Howland, former Chief Justice of Ontario.

The Alan Marks Medal is awarded to the graduate student (LL.M. or S.J.D.), who, in the judgment of the Faculty, has presented an outstanding thesis during the course of the year. The medal is given by Canada Law Book Inc. to commemorate the admiration for and encouragement of excellence in writing that characterized the late Alan Marks, long-time Vice President and Executive Editor. The medal also carries an award of $1,000.

The Nathan Strauss Q.C. Essay Prize in Legal Ethics in the amount of $1,000, gift of Lilly Offenbach Strauss in honour of her late husband, Nathan Strauss, a Life Bencher of the Law Society of Upper Canada, and in appreciation of his exemplary professional conduct in the practice of law, to be awarded annually to a full-time student in the J.D. or graduate programme who produces an essay of exceptional merit on any issue relating to legal ethics or professional conduct. The prize will be awarded on the recommendation of the Associate Dean (Students) and the Associate Dean (Graduate Studies) in consultation with members of the Graduate Faculty. Please review the Nathan Strauss Legal Ethics page for more information.