Minister of Foreign Affairs Bill Graham

The Honourable William C. Graham '64, Minister of Foreign Affairs, delivered the 2003 David B. Goodman Lecture on Monday, January 13, 2003.

Minister Graham's topic was "Challenges for International Law in the 21st Century: A Canadian Political Perspective."

The Honourable William C. Graham '64

First elected as Member of Parliament for Toronto Centre-Rosedale in 1993, Bill Graham was appointed Minister of Foreign Affairs in January 2002.

From 1995 to 2002, Mr. Graham served as Chairman of the House of Commons Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade.  Under his chairmanship, the committee produced important reports on issues including Canada's interests in the World Trade Organization, Canada's role in Kosovo, the implementation of legislation for the International Criminal Court, and the Summit of the Americas in Quebec City.

Bill Graham was elected founding President of the Inter-Parliamentary Forum of the Americas.  He has served as Vice-President and Treasurer of the Parliamentary Association of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, and as Treasurer of Liberal International.

Born in Montreal and raised in Vancouver, Mr. Graham studied at Upper Canada College, Trinity College, the University of Toronto Faculty of Law (LL.B. 1964) and the University of Paris (LL.D.).

He practised law at Fasken & Calvin, specializing in international business transactions, and subsequently taught International Trade Law, Public International Law, and the Law of the European Community at the Faculty.  He also served as Director of the Centre of International Studies at the University of Toronto.

Mr. Graham has been a visiting lecturer in law at McGill University and the University of Montreal, and is an honorary life member of the Canadian Council of International Law.  In recognition of his commitment to public life and cooperation among peoples and nations, the William C. Graham Chair in International Law and Development has been established at the University of Toronto Faculty of Law.