Tort Law & Social Equality Project Announces 2024 Speaker Series

Friday, December 8, 2023

Launched in 2022, and run by U of T Law Professor Sophia Moreau, Professor Zoë Sinel (Western University), Professor Jean Thomas (Queen’s University), and U of T Law Banting Postdoctoral Fellow Anthony Sangiuliano, the Tort Law & Social Equality Project (“TLSE”) aims to foster an awareness of the many inadvertent ways in which legal rules within tort law reinforce and perpetuate systemic social inequalities or, conversely, can be leveraged to help achieve equality.

Geoffrey Hinton tops Toronto Life's list of most influential people

Friday, December 8, 2023

Hinton among several U of T community members highlighted by the magazine

(photo by Polina Teif)


Year in Review 2023: In the news

Friday, December 1, 2023

Grid of U of T Law professors

Our scholars serve as influential figures in academia, the legal field, and public policy, with their sought-after expertise extending across the Canadian media scene and beyond.

Year in Review 2023: On the bookshelf

Friday, December 1, 2023

Covers of books by U of T Law professors

It was another exceptional year for published work by our faculty and alumni. Each title adds to the intellectual leadership of our community.

Year in Review 2023: Honours & Awards

Friday, December 1, 2023


U of T Law is home to some of the world's top legal scholars, students, alumni and staff. We congratulate them on their award-winning accomplishments!

‘Early Warning, Early Response’ program empowers Nigerians to defend their communities

Tuesday, November 28, 2023

Many of the Fulani of northern Nigeria are nomadic herders who have been driven from their traditional grazing lands by environmental degradation, forcing them to encroach on farmlands — and into violent clashes with farmers.

Human rights champion R. Douglas Elliot (JD 1982) named inaugural Carl Mitchell Award recipient

Monday, November 27, 2023

Renowned litigator R. Douglas Elliot, who has won landmark cases on behalf of the 2SLGBTQI+ community, is the inaugural recipient of the Carl Mitchell Community Impact Award.

On February 5, 1981, Toronto Police raided four downtown bathhouses and charged hundreds of patrons for being found in a common bawdy house. The raid was an escalation after years of police brutality and intimidation and, for many members of Toronto’s gay community, a breaking point.

Professor David Dyzenhaus honoured for contributions to legal philosophy, defending rule of law

Thursday, November 23, 2023

David Dyzenhaus

University Professor David Dyzenhaus was awarded a Gold Medal by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada