Friday, May 1, 2020

The 2020 Annual General Meeting of the Faculty of Law Alumni Association (LAA) was virtually held on Tuesday, April 28, 2020. 

Three new members were elected a three-year term: Steven Elliott (1995), Laura Fric (1993) and Michael Hong (2004). The LAA unanimously renewed Brian Livingston (1980) for a second three-year term.

Congratulations to new and renewed members, and sincere thanks to outgoing council members, Rob Centa (1999), Andrew Heal (1988) and Justice Rita Maxwell (2001) for their service and participation on the Council.

Meet our new LAA members: 

Steven Elliott

Steven Elliott, QC, JD 1995, Barrister, One Essex Court (London, UK)

Steven practices commercial litigation and arbitration with an emphasis on civil fraud, company matters and cases with a financial dimension.  His matters are typically complex, high in value, and multi-jurisdictional.

Laura Fric

Laura Fric, LLB 1993, Partner, Osler (Toronto)

Laura is an experienced class action, trial and appellate lawyer, representing clients on their most challenging issues. She is Co-Chair of Osler’s Compensation Committee, and a former Co-Chair of the Canadian Advocates’ Society commercial litigation group.

 Michael Hong

Michael Hong, JD/MBA 2004, Partner, Davis Polk (New York, USA)

Michael is a partner in Davis Polk’s Corporate Department, practicing in the Investment Management Group. He advises sophisticated private fund managers across all asset classes in their most complex, high-value transactions. Michael’s advice encompasses fund formation, M&A-related transactions (with a special expertise around co-investments), and ongoing investment-related advice on behalf of private equity, growth capital, credit, hedge, energy, real estate, co-investment and fund of funds managers.

Brian Livingston

Brian Livingston (1980), retired VP/Secretary/General Counsel, Imperial Oil Ltd

Brian served as vice-president, general counsel and corporate secretary of Imperial Oil Limited from August 2004 until December 2013. He is currently a Fellow of the University of Calgary School of Public Policy and is a past President of the Calgary Petroleum Club.