Wednesday, February 26, 2020

Wilson Moot team

U of T law students Ahmed Elahi, Geri Angelova, Zoë Sebastien and Karen Chen with Supreme Court of Canada Justice Malcolm Rowe (centre)

University of Toronto law students took first place in the Wilson Moot – a competition created honour the outstanding contributions to Canadian law made by the late Honourable Bertha Wilson. 

Facing the University of British Columbia in the final round, Karen Chen and Zoë Sebastien argued the appellant’s position before a bench that included Justice Malcolm Rowe of the Supreme Court of Canada, Justice Kathryn Feldman of the Ontario Court of Appeal and Justice John Laskin of the Federal Court of Appeal. 

The team, including Geri Angelova and Ahmed Elahi, was supported by third-year student coaches Sonia PatelSuhasini RaoMariangela Asturi and Eileen Church Carson. They also took first place for their factums.

The Wilson trophy returns to U of T after a trip to Australia with last year’s winners, Bond University.

Republished from U of T Celebrates