Monday, February 12, 2024


Benji McLean, 2L and Nathan McLean, 2L are the winners of the National Labour Arbitration Competition 2024

Led by Mathews Dinsdale & Clark LLP, the NLAC brings together law students, professors, arbitrators, judges, and labour relations practitioners from across the country and was held over two days, February 3 and 4. 
The U of T Law students—and twin brothers—faced UBC's Peter A. Allard School of Law in the final round before a panel including the Hon. Malcolm Rowe, Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada; Brian O'Byrne, Chair of the Ontario Labour Relations Board; and Jennifer Glougie, Chair of the British Columbia Labour Relations Board. 
Benji and Nathan thank their coaches, U of T Law alumni Maeve Biggar (JD 2014), a partner at Caley Wray and an adjunct lecturer and moot advisor at U of T Law; Kathryn Bird (JD 2007), managing partner at Ogletree Deakins;  Amanda Lawrence-Patel (JD 2012), a partner at Hicks Morley's; Braxton Murphy (JD 2022), an associate at Paliare Roland; Lauren Pearce (JD 2015), a founding partner at Jones Pearce LLP and an adjunct moot advisor at U of T Law; Kate Shao (JD 2017), an associate at Paliare Roland; and Stephen Shore (JD 2007), a partner at Ogletree Deakins and an adjunct moot advisor with the Faculty.
They were also coached by 3L students, Clare Murray and Sang Park, and additional labour law practitioners and arbitrators provided feedback to their run-throughs in the month leading up to the competition. 
Supplied photo