Tuesday, November 1, 2022

Arbor Awards

The University of Toronto has recognized its most outstanding volunteers of 2022 with the Arbor Award – the highest honour granted by the University to volunteers, and is given for sustained contributions to specific academic units, such as faculties, colleges or institutes, or for broader contributions to the University at large.

U of T Law is pleased to congratulate this year's Abor Award recipients: 

Sarah M. Boulby (LLB 1991)

Sarah has been an invaluable asset to the advancement team at the Faculty of Law. Her services as a member of the alumni association board since 2016 include advising on advancement office programming and whether it adequately engages alumni. Sarah’s feedback has helped shape and create more inclusive and engaging programming.

Meghan Bridges (JD 2014)

Meghan has been instrumental since she joined the Law Alumni Association board in 2018. As a recent graduate, Meghan provided unique input regarding how to develop programing that is more targeted at engaging younger cohorts. Her recommendations included recruiting new alumni association board members as well as planning class reunions.

Brian R. Carr (LLB 1973)

Brian Carr has been a long-standing member of the Law Alumni Association since 2015. He has provided invaluable guidance and support to the advancement team related to event planning as well as implementing new and creative programs to engage current and new alumni.

Albert Lin (JD 2013)

Albert has served as a board member on the Law Alumni Association since 2019. He graduated with a JD in 2013 and since his appointment to the board, he has been instrumental in helping the advancement office develop programming targeted at younger alumni.

Mark A. Surchin (JD 1981)

Mark is a deeply engaged supporter of the Faculty of Law. His contributions include serving as vice-president of the Law Alumni Association and inspiring his graduation class of 1981 to participate in the Faculty’s 2021 reunion. Mark also supports the law school by teaching a course, providing advisory services, and representing the Faculty as vice-chair of U of T’s College of Electors.

U of T President Meric Gertler's Message to 2022 Arbor Award Recipients: