Monday, August 10, 2020

CRC renewals

Faculty of Law Professors Anver Emon and Larissa Katz are among the University of Toronto's seven renewed Canada Research Chairs. In total, 29 new or renewed chairs were announced for U of T. 

Professor Emon is named Canada Research Chair in Islamic Law and History (tier two) and Professor Katz is named Canada Research Chair in Private Law Theory (tier two).

The Canada Research Chair Program was established in 2000 to fund outstanding researchers in this country. It provides approximately $295 million annually to universities to help retain and attract top minds, spur innovation and foster training excellence in Canadian post-secondary institutions.

“Congratulations to the University of Toronto’s new and renewed Canada Research Chairs,” says University Professor Ted Sargent, U of T’s vice-president, research and innovation, and strategic initiatives. “This investment will further strengthen and build on the exceptional research environment at U of T.

“The Canada Research Chairs Program enables our nation’s researchers to make ground-breaking discoveries, create new knowledge and attract talent that ultimately benefits all Canadians.”

With files from U of T News

Read Arts & Science News