Friday, June 5, 2020

Professor Yasmin Dawood

The Class of 2020 is honoured to select Professor Yasmin Dawood as the recipient of the Mewett Teaching Award. The graduating class recognizes Professor Dawood’s passion for teaching, and the kindness and dedication she has shown to students inside and outside of the classroom. Professor Dawood has a special ability to encourage students to explore issues from different perspectives, cultivating both academic curiosity and empathy for others. Thank you Professor Dawood.

Professor Dawood is the Canada Research Chair in Democracy, Constitutionalism, and Electoral Law, and an Associate Professor at the Faculty of Law. She is cross-appointed in the Department of Political Science. She was named a member of the Royal Society of Canada, College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists in 2018. Professor Dawood specializes in election law, comparative constitutional law, and democratic theory. Her scholarship is broadly concerned with improving electoral fairness and democratic governance. She teaches Constitutional Law, the Law of Democracy, and Legal Methods at the Faculty of Law.

Professor Dawood remarked on the receipt of this award: 

"Thank you so much to everyone in the Class of 2020 for this tremendous honour. It is a joy and an absolute privilege to teach and mentor the extraordinary students at the Faculty of Law. They are insightful, smart, compassionate, and supremely talented. The world will benefit immensely from their remarkable leadership and legal skills. Hearty congratulations to the Class of 2020!!”

Congratulations to Professor Dawood!