Thursday, March 26, 2020

Today the Schwartz Reisman Institute announced the appointment of its inaugural Research Leadership Team.

Working together with the Schwartz Reisman Chair in Technology and Society and Director of the Institute, Law Professor Gillian Hadfield, the University of Toronto's world-renowned scholars will form the core intellectual leadership of the Institute. They will collaboratively develop an ambitious research agenda that spans research in artificial intelligence and computer science, the social sciences and the humanities.

Appointed to the team is Professor and Chair in Law and Technology, Lisa Austin. She is the co-founder of the IT3 Lab, which focuses on interdisciplinary research on privacy and transparency in technology. Her research focuses on legal theory as well as law and technology. Professor Austin's extensive privacy work has been cited numerous times by Canadian courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada. She is a recipient of U of T's President's Impact Award for her work.

Research Leadership Team appointments include: 

  • David Lie, Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and an expert in computer security. 
  • Peter Loewen, Professor of Political Science, Global Affairs and Public Policy. 
  • Sheila McIlraith, Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Vector Institute for Artificial Intelligence; Canada CIFAR AI Chair. 
  • Jennifer Nagel, Professor of Philosophy, specializing in epistemology and philosophy of cognitive science. 
  • Toniann Pitassi, Bell Canada Chair in Information Systems in the Department of Computer Science and Vector Institute. 
  • Denis Walsh, Professor in the Department of Philosophy and the Institute for the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology. 
  • Wendy Wong, Professor of Political Science and Canada Research Chair in Global Governance and Civil Society.