Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Prof. David DyzenhausThe Faculty of Law’s Prof. David Dyzenhaus was named University Professor, one of the most prestigious – and competitive – designations bestowed by the University of Toronto on its faculty.

“We are very proud of David,” said Dean Ed Iacobucci. “He has been a wonderful faculty citizen, including serving as the associate dean of graduate studies for eight years, editing the University of Toronto Law Journal, and sitting on a wide range of our Faculty’s most important committees. He has also acted as an influential mentor to a number of our junior faculty members and to our stellar graduate students.”

Dyzenhaus holds the Albert Abel Chair and is also cross-appointed to the Faculty of Arts and Science’s Department of Philosophy.  A fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, he has made outstanding scholarly contributions to the fields of public law, legal and political philosophy, and history of ideas during his more than 25 years at the law school.

He has taught in his native South Africa and also in England, Canada, Singapore, New Zealand, Hungary, and the USA. He holds a doctorate from Oxford University, and law and undergraduate degrees from the University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa.

Dyzenhaus is the author of four books, including: Judging the Judges, Judging Ourselves: Truth, Reconciliation and the Apartheid Legal Order (Hart, 1998), resulting from his work with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission in South Africa in 1997; and The Constitution of Law: Legality in a Time of Emergency (Cambridge University Press, 2006), a far-reaching account of the role of law in times of great political stress.

In addition to these works, Dyzenhaus has published more than 100 academic articles and edited collections, and has edited or co-edited 10 collections of essays.

Currently, he’s completing his 2014-15 year in Cambridge as the Arthur Goodhart Visiting Professor in Legal Science in Cambridge.

Read more about Prof. Dyzenhaus and his University Professorship appointment here.


The Faculty of Law now has a total of four University Professors, including Professors Trebilcock, Waddams and Weinrib.

The Department of English’s Prof. Thomas Keymer and Prof. Edward Sargent, of the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering, were also named University Professors this year.