Thursday, April 12, 2012

2012 U of T Law Cressy Award Winners
L-R: Justin Basinger, Renatta Austin, Justin Nasseri, Atrisha Lewis, Aaron Rankin

Congratulations to Faculty of Law students Renatta Austin, Justin Basinger, Atrisha Lewis, Justin Nasseri and Aaron Rankin on their receipt of the 2012 U of T Gordon Cressy Student Leadership Awards.

The Cressy Awards were established in 1994 to recognize graduating students for their dedication to volunteerism and passion for improving student life.

Renatta Austin has dedicated hours to the Law in Action Within Schools program and the annual See Yourself Here open house, and is committed to encouraging diverse youth to consider a career in law.

Justin Basinger sits on the executive of Downtown Legal Services and is co-editor of the Indigenous Law Journal. He’s an active member of the Aboriginal Law Students’ Association and participated in the inaugural Aboriginal Undergraduate and Law Student Mentorship Program.

Atrisha Lewis organized training sessions for more than 80 law students as part of the litigation association at the Faculty of Law, and sits on the Students Law Society.

Justin Nasseri is involved in numerous initiatives through his involvement in the SLS and DLS, and ran moot workshops as part of the litigation association.

And Aaron Rankin, SLS president during 2011-2012 was also co-chair of the Peer Mentorship Program, while engaged in intramural sports, and was a founder of the Chords of Appeal, a student a cappella choir.