Alumni Spotlight: Anita Szigeti (LLB 1990)

Wednesday, June 5, 2024

U of T Law graduate Anita Szigeti (LLB 1990) is the founding lawyer of Anita Szigeti Advocates, a Toronto firm focusing on mental health and the law. She is currently co-director of the Mental Health Law course within the Health Law LLM at Osgoode Professional Development, where she obtained a Certificate in Tribunal Adjudication in 2018.

Malcolm Thorburn named 2024 Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation Fellow

Monday, June 3, 2024

Malcolm Thorburn

Professor Malcolm Thorburn, of the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Law, has been named a Fellow of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation in recognition of research excellence, educational leadership and skills in teaching and mentoring.

Ran Hirschl named University Professor

Monday, June 3, 2024

Professor Ran Hirschl, who holds a cross-appointment to the Faculty of Law, has been named a University Professor. The designation recognizes unusual scholarly achievement and pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge.

Justice Nitya Iyer (LLB 1986) appointed to Court of Appeal for British Columbia

Thursday, May 30, 2024

On May 27, 2024, the Hon. Arif Virani (LLB 1998), Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, announced the appointment of Justice Nitya Iyer (LLB 1986) to the role of Justice of Appeal of the Court of Appeal for British Columbia. 

In Memoriam: Professor Emeritus Peter Rosenthal (LLB 1990)

Tuesday, May 28, 2024

It is with immense sadness that the Faculty of Law announces the passing of alumnus, lawyer and University of Toronto Professor Emeritus of Mathematics Peter Rosenthal (LLB 1990). He was 82 years old. 

A class of one: Donya Ashnaei (JD/MA 2024), earns combined JD and MA in economics

Monday, May 27, 2024

Donya Ashnaei

Supplied photo

Donya Ashnaei is the only person to graduate from the University of Toronto with a combined JD and MA in Economics in 2024. Her convocation ceremony falls in the middle of the two bar exams she must write to practise law here in Ontario.

Elizabeth Bowker (JD 2001) appointed to the Law Foundation of Ontario Class Proceedings Committee

Friday, May 24, 2024

On May 21st, 2024, the Law Foundation of Ontario announced the appointment of U of T Law graduate Elizabeth Bowker (JD 2001) to the Class Proceedings Committee.

Mayo Moran, U of T Law alumni receive Law Society Medal

Friday, May 24, 2024

Faculty of Law Professor Mayo Moran (SJD 1999), Provost and Vice-Chancellor of Trinity College in the University of Toronto and graduates Dianne G. Corbiere (LLB 1996) and Robert Cunningham (LLB 1990) were honoured at the Law Society Awards on May 22, 2024.

They were each awarded the Law Society Medal for significant contributions and dedication to the legal profession.