Saturday, December 28, 2019

Order of Canada Medals

The Hon. Daniel Hays (LLB 1965) was made an Officer of the Order of Canada for his contributions to the province of Alberta and distinguished public service, including the Senate of Canada.

He was named to the Senate by Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau in 1984 and was later appointed to the Speakership in 2001 by Prime Minister Jean Chrétien. 

Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada, announced 120 new appointments to the Order. The new member list includes 5 Companions (C.C.), 38 Officers (O.C.), and 77 Members (C.M.). Recipients will be invited to accept their insignia at a ceremony to be held at a later date.

Read more at U of T News: U of T faculty, alumni and other members of university community named to Order of Canada

(photo by Sgt Johanie Maheu, Rideau Hall, OSGG-BSGG)