Monday, March 25, 2024

Arthur Ripstein

In recognition of his service to the University of Toronto in a variety of roles, University Professor of law and philosophy Arthur Ripstein, Howard Beck, Q.C., Chair, has been awarded the 2024 Vivek Goel Faculty Citizenship Award.

The Vivek Goel Faculty Citizenship Award recognizes a faculty member who has served the University of Toronto with distinction in multiple leadership capacities in diverse spheres over many years. The recipient of this award is an exemplary university citizen and a senior member of the faculty and has a sustained a record of contributions in varied capacities, aside from research.

Ripstein is an influential scholar and public intellectual and an award-winning researcher with a primary appointment at the Faculty of Law and a cross appointment to the Department of Philosophy. His research and teaching interests include torts, legal theory, political philosophy and Kant. He has served as Chair and Acting Chair of the Department of Philosophy and on countless committees in both Philosophy and Law, often as committee chair. In 2016, he was appointed to the rank of University Professor, which recognizes unusual scholarly achievement and pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge through the designation. He was awarded the Killam Prize for Humanities in 2021 and has been a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada since 2010.

From 2003 to 2011 Ripstein served on Governing Council, and also on its Business Board. In 2004 he expanded his role on Governing Council when he became a member of the Executive Committee. Ripstein also served on the Academic Appeals Committee and assisted in the orientation of new governors by delivering sessions on fiduciary responsibility.

Ripstein was actively involved in the Towards 2030 planning process that former President Naylor launched in 2007 to prepare the University for its third century and quickly became one of the most valuable members of the Towards 2030’s Task Force on Governance. He served on the Special Joint Advisory Committee (SJAC) on the Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with the University of Toronto Faculty Association in 2013-14. The SJAC successfully negotiated important changes to the MOA between the University and the Faculty Association.

In 2020, Ripstein was tasked to chair a newly established Working Group on Anti-Semitism. Following more than a year of very intense and widespread consultation, this group presented its final report in the Winter 2021-22. Its recommendations have since been accepted by the University administration. Ripstein continues to advise various stakeholders in the University on various issues.

“Arthur is at once a world leading scholar and a truly remarkable University citizen,” said Dean and University Professor Jutta Brunnée, James Marshall Tory Dean’s Chair. “While excelling as a scholar, teacher and mentor, he has consistently and generously devoted his time in service to U of T. The impacts of his extraordinary leadership, dedication and insight are felt in countless and lasting ways across the University. He is uniquely deserving of the Vivek Goel Faculty Citizenship Award and I could not be more delighted that he was recognized in this fitting way.”

About the Awards of Excellence

Throughout its rich history, the University of Toronto has striven to promote and recognize excellence among its community members. The University of Toronto Alumni Association (UTAA) has played an integral role in furthering this mission through its longstanding support of distinguished awards programs that acknowledge outstanding faculty, staff, librarians, and students.

The prestigious Awards of Excellence program dates back to 1921 with the creation of the John H. Moss Scholarship, awarded to outstanding student leaders. In 1990 the Faculty Award and the Chancellor’s Award were added to the program. Since 1990, seven more distinct awards or scholarships recognizing exceptional students, faculty, librarians and administrative staff members of the University have been launched; most recently, the President's Excellence Award.

Though the criteria differ for each award, recipients all share a commitment to enhancing the university experience of their peers and leave a significant impact on the University through their efforts.