Thursday, September 8, 2016
group photo

Dean Iacobucci with the first award recipients: Lara Koerner Yeo, Katie Longo and Tina Saban.


Dean Ed Iacobucci is pleased to announce the inaugural Dean’s Leadership Awards for the 2015-16 academic year. This year’s recipients are:

  1. Katie Longo for contributions in her 1L year
  2. Tina Saban for contributions in her 1L year
  3. Lara Koerner Yeo for contributions in her 2L year
  4. Ashley Major for contributions in her 2L year

The Faculty of Law created the Dean’s Leadership Awards to recognize the outstanding co- and extra-curricular leadership of 1L and 2L students at the law school.  Like the university’s Cressy awards for graduating students (six law students received Cressy awards this year), our new Leadership Awards value traditional and non-traditional forms of leadership, including:

  • Leadership on U of T Law committees, clubs, organizations, journals and/or student government
  • Leadership related to equity and diversity at the law school and/or in the legal community
  • Encouragement of fellow students to become involved in co-curricular and/or extra-curricular activities
  • Contribution to a sense of community at U of T Law

“The selection process was quite competitive,” says Iacobucci.” We received several very impressive nominations from students, staff and faculty.  The law school is very lucky to have so many engaged and thoughtful students who care about creating an inclusive and vibrant learning environment.”

With input from a faculty member (Anver Emon), graduating student (Jennifer Aziz, our Gina Calderelli student spirit award winner), and staff member (Sara-Marni Hubbard), the Committee members unanimously endorsed a short list of candidates for the dean’s final consideration.

“I am very grateful for their participation,” adds Iacobucci.