Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Mary Condon

Alumna Mary G. Condon, LLM 1986, SJD 1991, interim dean of Osgoode Hall Law School at York University, was named to the Women’s Network 2018 Top 100 Most Powerful Women in Canada list. The list recognizes “outstanding women across Canada who have advocated for diversity in the workforce, and who serve as an inspiration for the next generation of leaders.” Condon was named in the PwC Public Sector Leaders category.

She joined Osgoode Hall Law School as faculty in 1992, and was appointed by the Ontario government as a commissioner and board member of the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC), from 2008-2016. During that time, between 2011-2014, she served as one of two full-time vice-chairs of the OSC, and was executive sponsor of a number of policy initiatives.  

The Top 100 Awards span the private, public and not-for-profit sectors, with the initial candidates selected by WXN's Diversity Council. The final vetting process for the 2018 Top 100 Award Winners was completed by WXN's 2017-2018 Diversity Champions.

"We are celebrating 110 of Canada's highest achieving women in diverse fields," said Sherri Stevens, CEO of WXN. "All 110 are role models for the generations who will follow--which is why it's very important to recognize and celebrate their great achievements."

Past award winners include Canada's most iconic women trailblazers, such as Margaret Atwood, best-selling author, Dr. Roberta Bondar, astronaut, Arlene Dickinson, chief executive officer, Venture Communications, Christine Magee, president, Sleep Country Canada, Michaëlle Jean, former governor general of Canada, Heather Reisman, founder and CEO, Indigo Books & Music, and Kathleen Taylor, chair of the board, Royal Bank of Canada.