Mary Birdsell selected as Asper Centre’s 2024 Constitutional Litigator-in-Residence

Friday, July 12, 2024

Starting this fall, Mary Birdsell will be joining the David Asper Centre for Constitutional Rights as the 2024 Constitutional Litigator-in-Residence.

Mary is the Executive Director and Lawyer of Director of Justice for Children and Youth (JFCY).

Call for Nominations: 2024 Alumni Awards

Friday, July 12, 2024

The nomination period for the Distinguished Alumni Award and the Ann Wilson and Robert Prichard Award for Community and Professional Service are now open!

The Distinguished Alumni Award has been presented every other year since 1982 by the Faculty of Law to a graduate in recognition of their extraordinary leadership and lifelong commitment to the community.

Looking for summer reading recommendations? Check out the U of T Law Summer Reading List!

Wednesday, July 3, 2024

Summer is the perfect time to relax, unwind, and dive into some captivating books. Whether you're lounging by the pool, enjoying a staycation, or simply looking to read something new, our summer reading list has got you covered.

From historical fictions such as the Jane Austen Society by U of T Law alumnae Natalie Jenner (LLB 1993), to the captivating biography of The Honourable Frank Iacobuccithere is something for everyone. 

U of T Law welcomes two new faculty members

Tuesday, July 2, 2024

U of T Law is pleased to welcome two accomplished legal scholars, who join our faculty, effective July 1, 2024.

Assistant Professor William Sullivan

William Sullivan

Supplied photo

U of T Law doctoral candidate examines the policy impact of climate concerns and worries

Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Steve Lorteau

Doctor of Juridical Science (SJD) candidate Steve Lorteau (supplied photo)

Are you worried about climate change? Do your concerns predict your purchasing choices and opinions?

Alumni Spotlight: Ryan Liss (JD 2011)

Monday, June 24, 2024

Interview by Elaine Smith

Awards: Macdonald Prize in International Law (2010); Fasken Martineau Award for Academic Excellence (2009); Gordon Cressy Student Leadership Award (2011)

LLM and JSD: Yale Law School

Postdoctoral fellowship: Columbia Law School

Ryan Liss

John Borrows and David Walders receive TRC Teaching Awards

Friday, June 21, 2024


John Borrows and David Walders have received TRC Teaching Awards from the Students’ Law Society (SLS) and the Indigenous Law Students’ Association (ILSA).

Martha Shaffer receives Mewett Teaching Award

Friday, June 21, 2024
Martha Shaffer

The University of Toronto Faculty of Law Class of 2024 has given Professor Martha Shaffer the Mewett Teaching Award, presented annually to a faculty member for excellence in teaching.