JD Class of 2024 Convocation Awards: Congratulations to all our graduates

Friday, June 14, 2024

The following Convocation Awards for Class of 2024 were announced today at the JD program reception:

Angus MacMurchy Gold Medal and Gallant Ho Prize

Awarded to the student in the graduating class with the highest cumulative average

An enriching journey: Meet five graduates from U of T’s Faculty of Law

Friday, June 14, 2024

Graduates of the juris doctor (JD) program at the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Law crossed the stage at Convocation Hall, June 14.

In total, 208 JDs are joining an impressive global network of more than 11,500 law alumni.

U of T’s Faculty of Law ask members of this year’s graduating class to reflect on their time at law school, what’s next for the legal profession and why prospective students ought to consider this enriching pathway. 

David Lie appointed Director of the Schwartz Reisman Institute for Technology and Society

Thursday, June 13, 2024

As the Schwartz Reisman Institute for Technology and Society (SRI) enters its sixth year in operation, world-leading computer security expert David Lie will take on the role of the institute’s director, while two renowned AI safety experts—Roger Grosse and David Duvenaud—are being appointed Schwartz Reisman Chairs in Technology and Society.

DLS director Prasanna Balasundaram appointed Special Advocate

Friday, June 7, 2024

Prasanna Balasundaram, director of the Faculty's community legal clinic Downtown Legal Services (DLS) was recently appointed as a Special Advocate, situated within the Programs Branch of Department of Justice Canada.

U of T Alumni Reunion Recap

Thursday, June 6, 2024

Thank you to everyone who attended this year's U of T Alumni Reunion!

It was truly wonderful to see so many familiar faces back at the Faculty, and it was our absolute pleasure to welcome you all back.

Whether you attended one of our thought-provoking lectures, U of T Law virtual trivia or attended a special dinner in honour of your 25th anniversary, we hope you enjoyed the special weekend.

A special thank you to our class volunteers we couldn't have done it without you!

Alumni Spotlight: Anita Szigeti (LLB 1990)

Wednesday, June 5, 2024

U of T Law graduate Anita Szigeti (LLB 1990) is the founding lawyer of Anita Szigeti Advocates, a Toronto firm focusing on mental health and the law. She is currently co-director of the Mental Health Law course within the Health Law LLM at Osgoode Professional Development, where she obtained a Certificate in Tribunal Adjudication in 2018.

Malcolm Thorburn named 2024 Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation Fellow

Monday, June 3, 2024

Malcolm Thorburn

Professor Malcolm Thorburn, of the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Law, has been named a Fellow of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation in recognition of research excellence, educational leadership and skills in teaching and mentoring.

Ran Hirschl named University Professor

Monday, June 3, 2024

Professor Ran Hirschl, who holds a cross-appointment to the Faculty of Law, has been named a University Professor. The designation recognizes unusual scholarly achievement and pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge.

Justice Nitya Iyer (LLB 1986) appointed to Court of Appeal for British Columbia

Thursday, May 30, 2024

On May 27, 2024, the Hon. Arif Virani (LLB 1998), Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, announced the appointment of Justice Nitya Iyer (LLB 1986) to the role of Justice of Appeal of the Court of Appeal for British Columbia.