Watch the video of the Grand Moot

Thursday, October 10, 2019

Grand Moot 2019 group photo
Photo by Vivian Cheng, courtesy of Ultra Vires

Introducing our new Assistant Dean, Advancement, Jennifer Lancaster

Thursday, October 10, 2019

Jennifer LancasterThe Faculty of Law is pleased to welcome Jennifer Lancaster as the new Assistant Dean, Advancement. Jennifer joined the law school in September 2019. Jennifer writes:

Justice Rosalie Abella '70 receives U of T alumni award for 'unwavering commitment to human rights and equality'

Monday, October 7, 2019

Supreme Court Justice Rosalie Abella on stage at the Jackman Law Building: U of T, she said, “allowed me as a young woman to luxuriate in the prospect that anything was possible” (all photos by Nick Iwanyshyn)

By Richard Blackwell

Prof. Gillian Hadfield co-authors "Momentum is building to fix our legal system. Let’s seize it" in the Salt Lake Tribune

Wednesday, October 2, 2019

In a commentary in the Salt Lake Tribune, Prof. Gillian Hadfield and her co-authors, Deno Himonas and John Lund, describe the value of the reforms they propose for legal regulation in the American state of Utah. All three were members of a joint Supreme Court/Utah Bar task force to address the access-to-justice gap in Utah ("Momentum is building to fix our legal system. Let’s seize it," September 20, 2019).

Prof. Anita Anand awarded the Yvan Allaire medal by the Royal Society of Canada

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Professor Anita Anand, J.R. Kimber Chair in Investor Protection and Corporate GovernanceProf. Anita Anand, who holds the J.R. Kimber Chair in Investor Protection and Corporate Governance, has been awarded the Yvan Allaire Medal by the Royal Society of Canada.

Congratulations to the winners of the Dean’s Leadership Awards for 1L and 2L students

Monday, September 9, 2019

Congratulations to the recipients of our Dean’s Leadership Awards for 1L and 2L students:


  • Novalee Davy
  • Rebecca Barclay Nguinambaye


  • Hiam Kogiashvili-Amar
  • Erika Voaklander

The Dean’s Leadership Award recognizes the outstanding co- and extra-curricular leadership of our 1L and 2L students at the law school.  Like the University’s Cressy awards for graduating students, our Leadership Awards value both traditional and non-traditional forms of leadership, including:

Jackman Law Building atrium bustling at annual Clubs Fair

Friday, September 6, 2019

The annual Clubs Fair, which introduces the incoming 1L students to the wide range of extra-curricular activities available at the law school, had the atrium of the Jackman Law Building abuzz on Thursday Sept. 5 as students crowded around the booths of the wide variety of clubs and organizations on offer.

Students at clubs fair in atrium of Jackman Law Building

Innovative new IHRP clinical course is part of a global partnership to protect media freedom

Wednesday, September 4, 2019

The University of Toronto Faculty of Law is joining a global campaign for media freedom and will play a leading role in developing legal tools to protect journalists and defend freedom of the press alongside project partners, including a panel of legal experts led by Lord Neuberger, former President of the Supreme Court of the UK, and Amal Clooney, special envoy on media freedom to the UK Foreign Secretary.

Incoming: meet more of the new students in the Class of 2022

Friday, August 30, 2019

The Faculty of Law is excited to welcome, and welcome back, all our law students--JD, graduate and transfer students--most especially the incoming 1Ls. We’d like to introduce some of the Class of 2022 to you. In our annual series of new first-year profiles, meet: Manula, Jackson, Elsie and Alina.  (You can also meet four other incoming Class of 2022 students here).

Stories by Karen Gross

The Bora Laskin Law Library donors commemorative book is now installed permanently

Wednesday, August 28, 2019

Lionel Schipper and Dean Edward Iacobucci witht he commemorative book in the Bora Laskin Law Library
Lionel Schipper and Dean Edward Iacobucci with the commemorative book in the Bora Laskin Law Library

The Faculty of Law is pleased to announce that the special commemorative book honouring the donors to the original Bora Laskin Law Library is now installed permanently in the library.