

Assessing Canada's Indian Residential Schools Litigation & Settlement Processes

~ Friday, January 18, 2013~

LOCATION: Bennett Lecture Hall (Lower Level), Flavelle House (78 Queen's Park), University of Toronto Faculty of Law

AGENDA

- 8:30 9:00 Registration and Coffee and Conversation
- 9:00 9:15 Opening Prayer: Cat Criger, Council for UofT Aboriginal Initiatives Elder
- 9:15 Welcoming Remarks from Dean Mayo Moran and Introduction of Chief Phil Fontaine
- 9:15 10:00 Context and Background to the Settlement Agreement Chief Phil Fontaine, former National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations
- 10:00 11:15 The Residential Schools Litigation Process
 - <u>Panel Chair</u>: Professor Kent Roach, University of Toronto Faculty of Law; Special Advisor to Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada
 - Plaintiffs' Representative: Celeste Poltak, Koskie Minsky LLP
 - Church Representative: Reverend James Scott, United Church of Canada
 - Government Representative: Mitchell Taylor, Q.C., Department of Justice
 - The Role of the Courts: The Honourable Terrence McMahon (ret.), Alberta
 - Dean Bruce Feldthusen, University of Ottawa Faculty of Law

11:15 – 11:25 Break

11:25 – 12:30 The Role of the Legal Profession in the Processes

- <u>Panel Chair</u>: Professor Kent Roach, University of Toronto Faculty of Law
- Professor Trevor Farrow, Osgoode Hall Law School
- Paul Favel, Q.C., Assembly of First Nations representative to Independent Oversight Committee and lawyer, McKercher LLP
- John Terry, Torys LLP
- Professor Carrie Menkel-Meadow , University of California, Irvine

12:30 – 1:30 Lunch and Keynote on the Settlement Agreement by The Honourable Frank lacobucci

The Honourable Iacobucci will be introduced by Professor Kent Roach

1:30 – 2:45 Implementing the Settlement Agreement

- <u>Panel Chair</u>: Dean Mayo Moran, University of Toronto Faculty of Law; Chair, Settlement Processes Independent Oversight Committee
- Caroline Clark, Department of Justice
- Delia Opekokew, Deputy Chief Adjudicator, Independent Assessment Process
- David Paterson, Paterson Law, Vancouver
- Professor Kathleen Mahoney, University of Calgary

2:45 – 3:00 Break

3:00 – 4:15 Broader Lessons to be Learned

- Panel Chair: Professor Patrick Macklem, University of Toronto Faculty of Law
- Professor John Borrows, University of Minnesota Law School
- Professor David Dyzenhaus, University of Toronto Faculty of Law
- Professor Michael Marrus, University of Toronto Department of History
- Professor Courtney Jung, University of Toronto Department of Political Science

4:15 – 5:00 The Truth and Reconciliation Commission

The Honourable Justice Murray Sinclair, Chair, Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada, introduced by **Professor Douglas Sanderson**, University of Toronto Faculty of Law