Adjunct Professor

Janet E. Minor, LL.B. (University of Toronto) 1975, LL.M. (Osgoode) 1990. Called to the Bar in 1975, Minor holds an LLB from the University of Toronto and an LLM from Osgoode Hall Law School. She has worked in public law since 1977, and up until her election as Treasurer in 2014, was general counsel in the Constitutional Law Branch of Ontario’s Ministry of the Attorney General.

She has argued many significant cases on behalf of Ontario at all levels of court in Ontario, and at the Supreme Court of Canada. She has been a frequent speaker and participated in education programs on public law and an Adjunct Professor at both the University of Toronto, Faculty of Law and Osgoode Hall Law School.

Minor is a founding director of the Association of Law Officers of the Crown (ALOC), past director of The Advocates’ Society, and has served on the boards of the Law Foundation of Ontario and the Ontario Justice Education Network.

She was first elected as a bencher of the Law Society in 2001, then re-elected in 2006 and 2011. She was elected to the position of Treasurer of The Law Society of Upper Canada from 2014 – 2016. She was the 4th woman to hold that position and the first Treasurer from the public sector.

She has received the Women’s Law Association President’s Award (2003), the Ontario Bar Association’s Tom Marshall Award (2010), the ALOC Carol Creighton Award for Contribution to Public Law (2013), and a Zenith Award celebrating leading women lawyers from Lexpert (2013).