The Distinguished Alumni Award has been presented every other year since 1982 by the Faculty of Law to a graduate in recognition of their extraordinary public leadership and lifelong commitment to the community, which exemplify the highest ideals of the University of Toronto Faculty of Law. The Distinguished Alumni Award recipients are honoured at the Distinguished Alumni Award Ceremony, hosted at the Faculty of Law in early spring.

The Distinguished Alumni Award ceremony also includes the presentation of the Ann Wilson and Robert Prichard Award for Community and Professional Service. The Wilson Prichard Award honours a recent graduate of the Faculty of Law (less than 15 years since graduation) who demonstrates the highest standards of professional integrity, excellence and leadership, and who has made a significant contribution to the legal profession and/or community through his or her public interest work, pro bono activities and/or community service.

The nominations period for 2019 Wilson Prichard Award is now closed. Thank you.



Past Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

2017 - Melissa Kennedy ('87) and Herb Solway ('56). Read more

2014 - The Honourable James Farley, Q.C. (’66) and Linda Rothstein, (‘80) Read more
2012 - The Honourable Mr. Justice Ian Binnie (’65) and Jean Fraser (’75) Read more
2010 - The Honourable Henry N. R. Jackman (’56) and J. Robert S. Prichard (’75) Read more
2008 - The Honourable William (Bill) Graham ('64) Read more
2006 - The Honourable John C. Major (Class of ‘57) Read more
2002 - The Honourable Paul Martin (Class of '64) Read more
1998 - The Honourable John Sopinka (Class of ’58) (posthumously)
1996 - The Honourable Rosalie Silberman Abella (Class of ’70)
1994 - J. Bruce Dunlop (Class of ’54)
1992 - Edwin A. Goodman, O.C., Q.C., D.U. (Class of ’40)
1990 - John J. Robinette, O.C., Q.C. (Class of ’26)
1988 - The Honourable Charles L. Dubin (Class of ’41)
1987 - Lionel H. Schipper, Q.C. (Class of ’56) and James M. Tory, Q.C. (Class of ’52)
1985 - The Honourable G. Arthur Martin (Class of ’35)
1982 - The Right Honourable Bora Laskin (Class of ’33)



Past Ann Wilson and Robert Prichard Award Recipients

2017 - Michelle Henry ('02) and Claire Hunter ('03) Read more

2014 - Tariq Remtulla ('05) Read more

2012 - Sarah Corman ('03) and Benjamin Perrin ('05) Read more
2010 - Cornell Wright ('00) Read more
2008 - Arif Virani ('98)
2006 - Jennifer Orange ('98)

Back to Top